2008 Credit Guarantee Scheme

The Treasury is publishing this report following the closure of the drawdown window to provide additional background information about the initial drawdown phase¹.

The Credit Guarantee Scheme was put in place as part of the financial support to the banking sector announced on 8 October 2008. It provides a Government guarantee for new short and medium term debt issuance to institutions eligible under the scheme (**Eligible Institutions**). The scheme became operational on 13 October 2008 and closed to new issuance on 28 February 2010. HM Treasury acts as guarantor for debt covered by the scheme, while the Debt Management Office handles the operational aspects.

The scheme has two main stages. During the initial drawdown window, Eligible Institutions were able to refinance maturing liabilities under the scheme. Following closure of the drawdown window on 28 February 2010, Eligible Institutions are able to refinance debt already guaranteed under the scheme, but they cannot issue new debt.

Issuance under the scheme

The scheme was open for refinancing of maturing liabilities through debt guaranteed under the scheme from 13 October 2008 until the closure of the drawdown window on 28 February 2010.

The majority of issuance was carried out in the first three months of the scheme. By the end of 2008 around £100 billion had been issued by Eligible Institutions. By the summer of 2009 outstanding issuance had risen further to over £125 billion. At the time of the Pre-Budget Report in 2009 issuance was reported as £134 billion.

¹ More general information relating to rules and operation of the scheme is published on the UK Debt Management Office website at <u>UK Debt Management Office</u>.

Since then, overall outstanding issuance has decreased as debt issued in the early stages of the scheme matured without being refinanced. As of 24 March 2010, issuance stood at £125 billion.

Currencies

Issuance in the following currencies is eligible for a guarantee under the scheme: Sterling, US dollars, Euros, Japanese yen, Swiss francs, Australian dollars and Canadian dollars. A breakdown of currencies as at 24 March 2010 is set out below in sterling equivalent millions:

Sterling (£mn)	Euros (£mn)	US Dollars (£mn)	Australian Dollars	Swiss Francs	Japanese Yen (£mn)	Canadian Dollars
			(£mn)	(£mn)		(£mn)
48,763	19,747	45,522	1,952	207	8,742	-

Maturities

Under the scheme, Eligible Institutions were able to issue instruments between 1 month and 3 years in maturity. The table below provides a high-level breakdown of the maturity profile of outstanding issuance.

Liabilities maturing in 12 months or	Liabilities maturing between 1-3 years		
less (£million)	(£million) ²		
1,230	123,703		



A.1

Eligible Institutions making use of the scheme

The following Eligible Institutions have issued debt under the scheme since its inception in October 2008.

Bank of Scotland plc				
Barclays Bank plc				
Clydesdale Bank plc				
Coventry Building Society				
Investec Bank plc				
Lloyds TSB Bank plc				
Nationwide Building Society				
Rothschilds Continuation Finance plc				
Skipton Building Society				
Standard Life Bank plc				
Tesco Personal Finance plc				
The Royal Bank of Scotland plc				
West Bromwich Building Society				
Yorkshire Building Society				

A.2

Eligible Institutions that have not issued under the scheme

Since 13 October 2008, each of the following Eligible Institutions has received an Institution Certificate but have not issued debt under the scheme.

Bath Investment & Building Society					
Beverley Building Society					
Buckinghamshire Building Society					
Cambridge Building Society					
Chelsea Building Society					
Chesham Building Society					
Chorley Building Society					
Close Brothers Finance plc					
Co-operative Bank plc					
Cumberland Building Society					
Darlington Building Society					
Dudley Building Society					
Earl Shilton Building Society					
Ecology Building Society					
Furness Building Society					
Hanley Economic Building Society					
Hinckley and Rugby Building Society					
HSBC Bank plc					
Ipswich Building Society					
Kent Reliance Building Society					
Leeds Building Society					
Leek United Building Society					
The Loughborough Building Society					
Manchester Building Society					

The Mansfield Building Society					
Market Harborough Building Society					
Marsden Building Society					
Melton Mowbray Building Society					
Monmouthshire Building Society					
National Counties Building Society					
Newbury Building Society					
Newcastle Building Society					
Norwich and Peterborough Building Society					
Nottingham Building Society					
Penrith Building Society					
Principality Building Society					
Progressive Building Society					
Saffron Building Society					
Santander UK plc (formerly Abbey National plc)					
Scottish Building Society					
Shepshed Building Society					
Standard Chartered Bank					
Stroud and Swindon Building Society					
Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation Europe Limited					
Teachers Building Society					
Tipton & Coseley Building Society					
Vernon Building Society					